The programme area stretches across South-Western Serbia and the North and Central parts of Montenegro. It encompasses 10 municipalities in the Republic of Serbia situated in three districts – Zlatiborski, Moravički and Raški, and 14 municipalities in Montenegro.

The programme territory covers 17,402 km2, of which 46% belongs to Serbia and 54% to Montenegro. The programme territory on the Serbian side represents 9% of the total country surface, while in Montenegro it covers 68% of the country’s territory.